You need a DUI attorney with a proven record and the ability to minimize the legal impact of a DUI on your life. Defending a DUI charge in Florida can be complicated, but many viable defenses exist. The experienced DUI attorneys at Carlson Meissner & Hayslett are determined to protect your rights and will mount a solid defense to get your DUI charges dropped or reduced as far as possible.

DUI Laws in Florida

Florida has implemented strict penalties for people that drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol. This is because of the high number of accidents caused by drunk driving in the state. According to Florida laws:

  • You can be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher
  • If a person is under the influence of a controlled or chemical substance, such as prescription drugs, marijuana, cocaine, or any other illegal drug, they can be charged with a DUI
  • If drivers under the age of 21 operate commercial vehicles with a BAC of 0.02% or higher, they can be charged with driving under the influence
  • For commercial drivers, a BAC of 0.04% or higher can lead to a DUI charge

It’s critical to adhere to these laws to ensure the safety of everyone on the road and to avoid the severe consequences of a DUI charge.

Man drinking from a flask in the drivers seat of a car.

DUI Cases at Carlson Meissner & Hayslett

DUI Client of Carlson, Meissner & Hayslett P.A.

First DUI Conviction in Florida

There are harsh consequences to getting charged with a DUI. Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and the court can enforce the following on a first DUI conviction:

  • Driver’s license suspension (180 days to one year)
  • $130 administration fee
  • Interlock device
  • DUI program

Further, you may need to pay an additional $45-$75 as a driver’s license reinstatement fee.

You may even face criminal penalties, including:

  • 50 hours of mandatory community service
  • Up to one-year probation
  • Fines from $500-$1,000
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Vehicle impoundment (up to 10 days)

Fines for minors caught driving with a BAC of more than 0.15% are between $1,000-$2,000.

Banner media

Second DUI Conviction in Florida

Administrative penalties for getting a second DUI conviction include the following:

  • DUI program and interlock device
  • A $130 administrative fee
  • Suspended/revoked driver’s license

Second DUI conviction also attracts criminal penalties in case of a minor or substantially high BAC:

  • Up to nine months in jail
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
  • Fines from $1,000-$2,000
  • Up to one year of incarceration

Drivers with a BAC of 0.15% or higher may face fines from $2,000-$4,000.

Thinking man statuette

Our lawyers are available 24/7 Talk to a lawyer now.

Third DUI Conviction in Florida

If you are convicted of a third DUI, you should immediately get in touch with a qualified DUI criminal defense attorney, as you may face the following administrative penalties:

  • DUI program
  • Suspended/revoked license for up to 10 years
  • $45-$75 driver’s license reinstatement fee
  • $130 administrative fee
  • Interlock device

Third DUI conviction may also attract criminal penalties, such as:

  • Fines from $2,000-$5,000
  • Vehicle impoundment for up to 90 days
  • Mandatory 30 days to 1 year in jail

There is a minimum fine of $4,000 for a driver with a BAC of 0.15% or higher.

Subsequent DUI Convictions

Administrative penalties for subsequent DUI convictions include the following:

  • DUI program
  • Interlock device
  • Suspended/revoked driver’s license for five years
  • $45-$75 reinstatement fee

Special Circumstances for Drivers Under 21

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has an automatic driver’s license suspension for six months if the driver is under 21. In addition, there is an automatic driver’s license suspension for up to 18 months if the young driver refuses to take the BAC test. A driver’s license can be suspended for over a year if the young driver has prior convictions.

Banner media

Building Your Florida DUI Defense Strategy

All DUI offenses have three legal elements:

  • The stop
  • Field sobriety test
  • Breathalyzer and blood testing
  • Our seasoned DUI defense attorneys in Florida will review every detail leading up to your arrest.

We will try to challenge your arrest by:

  • Showing that the police did not have an articulable and reasonable basis
  • Investigating your field sobriety tests

Breathalyzer and blood tests have complex legal factors, and our experts will challenge the reliability and methodology of these tests in your case. You can count on us to explore various legal elements to defend you vigorously and cast doubt on the prosecution’s claims. Don’t risk leaving your defense to an inexperienced DUI attorney. If you are arrested on DUI charges, your best bet is to have our resourceful DUI defense lawyers at Carlson Meissner & Hayslett on your side.

Office media

Get a Free Case Evaluation from Our Seasoned DUI Criminal Defense Attorneys

If you or someone you love has been arrested on DUI charges, contact the experienced DUI attorneys at Carlson Meissner & Hayslett as soon as possible. Our tenacious lawyers have a formidable track record of reducing or dropping DUI charges altogether. To schedule your free consultation, call us at (727) 306-0273 or fill out our online contact form.

Areas We Serve

We service all of Florida and have offices in:

St. Petersburg
New Port Ritchie
Spring Hill

Free Case Evaluation Contact us today to learn how we can help you navigate your legal concerns.

This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
Get Started
Contact us media
Accessibility: If you are vision-impaired or have some other impairment covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act or a similar law, and you wish to discuss potential accommodations related to using this website, please contact our Accessibility Manager at (727) 306-0273.
Contact Us