New Port Richey DUI Lawyers Helping the Accused Avoid Legal Penalties
Getting behind the wheel of a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a mistake. Unfortunately, if you choose to drive while intoxicated, you could suffer the consequences of this mistake for the rest of your life.
Driving under the influence (DUI) laws are aggressively enforced in New Port Richey. If you are accused of this crime, it’s important to contact the experienced DUI defense attorneys at Carlson Meissner Hart & Hayslett as soon as possible. Your freedom is at stake—let us fight to protect it.
Is DUI A Misdemeanor or Felony in New Port Richey?
DUI can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony in Florida. The way this crime is charged will depend on the nature of the crime and the defendant’s prior criminal record.
Most first and second DUI offenses are misdemeanors. However, if you have two prior DUI convictions within the last 10 years, you will face felony DUI charges if you are accused of this crime for the third time. If you have three or more prior DUI convictions, you will face felony charges if you are caught driving under the influence for the fourth or subsequent time. This is true regardless of when the three prior DUI convictions occurred.
DUIs that involve injuries or fatalities are also charged as felonies, even if this is your first DUI offense.
What Are the Consequences of A DUI Conviction in Florida?
The penalties for driving under the influence can vary depending on whether you are a first-time or repeat offender, your level of impairment at the time of your arrest, and the nature of your crime.
For example, a first-time DUI offense can lead to various penalties, including fines of up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail. However, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was above 0.15 at the time of your arrest, you could face more serious penalties even though you are still a first-time offender. The penalties for this “aggravated DUI” include imprisonment for up to nine months in addition to up to $2,000 in fines.
The DUI laws in New Port Richey are complex. If you are charged with DUI, it’s important to discuss your case with our attorneys to learn more about what penalties you could face if convicted.
Will I Lose My Driving Privileges After A DUI Arrest in New Port Richey?
If you are arrested for DUI, the arresting police officer will issue you a DUI citation that will serve as a temporary driver’s permit for the next 10 days. After this 10-day period is over, you will lose your driving privileges as a result of your DUI arrest. However, there is a way to challenge this suspension. You must request a DMV hearing within the 10 days following your arrest for an opportunity to fight to retain your driving privileges. That’s why it’s best to seek legal representation immediately following your arrest. Let our DUI defense attorneys request, prepare for, and defend you during your DMV hearing. We will work tirelessly to protect your right to drive in New Port Richey.
How Can An Attorney Help You Beat DUI Charges?
It is always possible to fight DUI charges—even if your BAC was above the legal limit at the time of your arrest. The chemical tests that are used to measure your level of impairment do not always produce accurate results. Our attorneys know this, and more importantly, we know how to point out the flaws with these tests.
We will use our extensive experience and legal knowledge to question the reliability of your chemical test results and weaken the state’s case against you. With our help, it is possible to minimize or avoid the legal consequences of a DUI conviction regardless of your chemical test results.
Call Our DUI Defense Law Firm Now to Schedule Your Free Consultation
Are you facing DUI charges in New Port Richey? It doesn’t matter whether this is your first, second, or subsequent offense—it’s in your best interest to seek legal representation from our skilled DUI defense attorneys at Carlson Meissner Hart & Hayslett. Our goal is to help you fight the charges so you can minimize or avoid the legal penalties of a conviction. We have the legal experience, resources, and knowledge that is necessary to win the most complex DUI cases. To schedule a free consultation regarding your case, call 727-847-2737 or fill out the form on this website.