A DUI conviction can have far-reaching consequences on your reputation, employment, finances, mortgage payments, and family. We are determined to defend your rights and fight aggressively for a favorable outcome. With our tough and strategy-driven DUI attorneys at Carlson Meissner & Hayslett on your side, you have the best chance to defeat the prosecution’s case against you.

Second DUI Offense Penalties in Florida

Florida has two sets of consequences for DUI charges – administrative and court suspensions. Your license can be suspended twice for the same DUI, and you may receive additional consequences in the form of jail time and increased fines if you:

  • Blow over the legal BAC limit of 0.08
  • Refused to provide a breath sample
  • Have been pulled over for the second time on DUI-related charges

You may expect the following:

  • Between 10 days to 5 years in jail
  • Mandatory probation
  • Suspended license for up to 18 months if this is the second time you refused a sobriety test
Stack of books in front of a brick wall background.

Reinstating a License Following a Second DUI Offense

You will not be eligible for a hardship waiver hearing if you are charged with your second DUI; however, you can be given a special license during the hardship hearing. Based on this, you can still obtain a hardship license by challenging the suspension through a formal review process.

A hardship license allows limited driving privileges based on daily necessities, such as medical, school, food, and work. You won't be allowed to drive around for pleasure. Our winning Florida DUI defense attorneys will guide you through the process and help you make crucial decisions.

Interlock Device after a Second DUI

An ignition interlock device (IID) acts as a breathalyzer on the vehicle. You can start the vehicle only after you blow into the mouthpiece. An interlock device is required after most second DUI offenses, and you will need this device for at least one year following the conviction.

Background media

Diversion Programs

Second DUI offenses are generally not eligible for a DUI diversion program. The only way you can get qualified for the DUI Offender Program is if:

  • The case did not involve accidents, a BAC over 0.20, animals, or minor children
  • You have no prior commissions of a similar nature or formal diversion programs
  • The defendant did not have a valid driver’s license
  • The defendant is serving a previous prison sentence
  • The DUI arrest is not accompanied by felony or drug charges

You should speak with our qualified DUI attorneys in Florida as soon as possible to improve the likelihood of a more straightforward penalty.

Our Trusted DUI Lawyers are Here to Give You the Best Legal Advice and Defense. Call Now.

If you were charged with a second DUI offense, our experienced and informed second-offense DUI lawyers in Tampa are ready to fight for your rights. Our client-focused attorneys will review every legal aspect of your case and put up the strongest possible defense to get your charges dropped or reduced. To set up your free and confidential consultation, call 877-728-9653 or reach us online.

Banner media

Free Case Evaluation Contact us today to learn how we can help you navigate your legal concerns.

This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
This field is required.
Get Started
Contact us media
Accessibility: If you are vision-impaired or have some other impairment covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act or a similar law, and you wish to discuss potential accommodations related to using this website, please contact our Accessibility Manager at (727) 306-0273.
Contact Us