Facing a DUI charge for the first time can be confusing and frightening. This is because of the stringent DUI laws in Florida and the prospect of facing harsh penalties.
Penalties for a First DUI Offense in Florida
You can be charged with DUI if you are found driving with a BAC between .08 and .15. This is a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by jail time, fines, and license suspension:
- You may face a fine of $500 to $1,000 if you are found guilty of the charges
- There is also a jail sentence of up to six months in severe cases
- Your license will be suspended for at least six months
- You will also have to perform mandatory community service for 50 hours or pay an additional fine of $10 per hour