Bradenton Domestic Violence Lawyers Aggressively Protecting Your Rights
Authorities in the state of Florida do not take accusations of domestic violence lightly. If you are charged with domestic violence, you shouldn’t expect to walk away with just a slap on the wrist. The penalties for these charges are severe, which is why you will need to turn to an experienced domestic violence attorney at Carlson Meissner Hart & Hayslett for help.
Our team, which consists of board certified criminal specialists, former state attorneys, and a former FBI special agent, will work tirelessly to ensure you reach the best possible outcome in your case. Take the first step toward seeking justice by calling 941-747-3100 to schedule a free consultation now.
When Can I Be Charged With Domestic Violence in Florida?
Many crimes can be classified as domestic violence in the state of Florida, including:
- Aggravated Assault
- Aggravated Battery
- Sexual Assault
- Sexual Battery
- Aggravated Stalking
- False Imprisonment
- Other crimes that result in injury or death of the victim
These crimes are classified as domestic violence if both the perpetrator and victim are “family and household members.” This mean that the perpetrator and victim must be:
- Former spouses
- Family members related by either blood or marriage
- People who currently live together as a family
- People who have previously lived together as a family
- People who share a child in common, regardless of whether or not they are married or have been married in the past
This relationship between the victim and perpetrator is what turns a standard criminal offense into a domestic violence criminal offense.
Will I Go to Jail If I’m Convicted of Domestic Violence in Bradenton?
You can face serious penalties if you are convicted of domestic violence, including jail time. In fact, Florida law states that a domestic violence offender who intentionally caused bodily harm to the victim must serve at least 10 days in jail. For repeat offenders, this minimum sentence is increased to 15 days for a second offender and 20 days for third or subsequent offenders.
If the crime was committed in front of a child, first-time offenders will face a minimum of 15 days in jail, second-time offenders will face at least 20 days in jail, and third or subsequent offenders will face at least 30 days.
What Other Penalties Will I Face For A Domestic Violence Conviction?
The court can impose various penalties on domestic violence offenders in Bradenton, including:
- Community service
Domestic violence offenders are also required to complete a batterers’ intervention program as part of their sentence. These programs are designed to teach offenders how to change their behavior so they do not commit additional acts of domestic violence in the future.
There are other consequences of a domestic violence conviction. For example, the victim may obtain a protective order against you. The terms of this protective order could affect your custody agreement and prevent you from returning to the home you share with the victim. If you violate these terms, you can face additional legal penalties.
When Should I Contact A Domestic Violence Attorney in Bradenton?
It’s never too early to contact a criminal defense attorney if you have been accused of committing domestic violence. The sooner you contact Carlson Meissner Hart & Hayslett, the sooner our attorneys can begin defending your rights and fighting to protect your freedom. It’s in your best interest to contact us immediately following your arrest.
We know how accusations of domestic violence can negatively impact your life, which is what will motivate us to work tirelessly to reach the best possible outcome in your case. Our attorneys have more than 125 years of combined legal experience, so we know what it takes to win the most complex and challenging criminal cases.
Call Now to Schedule A Free Consultation With Our Domestic Violence Defense Lawyers
If you have been accused of committing domestic violence, it’s important to aggressively fight these charges in order to protect your future and your freedom. The domestic violence attorneys at Carlson Meissner Hart & Hayslett know what it takes to clear your name—let us fight for you.
Our goal is to help you reach the best possible outcome in your domestic violence case. Learn more about our legal services by setting up a free consultation with our team today. To schedule a free consultation regarding your case, call 941-747-3100 or fill out the form on this website.