What is the Crime of Battery in Florida?
We’ve all heard the term battery before and many times get confused between assault and battery or assume it’s the same thing.
The criminal charge of battery in most jurisdictions is the offensive touching or striking against the will of the victim.
In most jurisdictions, there are different levels of battery. For example, if you touch or strike someone and you don’t cause serious injury, it’s usually called simple battery. In most states or jurisdictions, that would be a misdemeanor, which is the lowest level of criminal charge.
What is considered battery in Florida?
In some states, they have what’s called aggravated battery or felony battery. Florida law is specific about their definition of battery. Aggravated battery occurs when you cause serious bodily injury such as a broken arm or cause them to have stitches. Or, it also includes use of a deadly weapon such as stabbing someone with a knife in the arm, yet it’s not enough to constitute attempted murder.
In conclusion, a battery is touching or striking of someone against their will. It doesn’t have to be your hand; it can be an extension of your hand such as a stick, knife or gun. Depending on your jurisdiction, it may be a misdemeanor battery or a felony aggravated battery.
If you have been charged with battery or felony battery, contact our skilled Tampa Bay criminal defense attorneys at 877-728-9653 for guidance, or get a free consultation now.
Since 1971, our Tampa criminal defense lawyers have defended the accused. We advocate for you – protecting your rights, your freedom, and your future. We have 5 Tampa Bay offices to serve you and can be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Se Habla Espanol.