Search (877) 728-9653

What to Do if You're Hit by an Uninsured Driver

Schedule A Free Consultation
Complete The Form Below
An Attorney Will Contact You Within 24hrs

First Name: *
Last Name: *
Phone: *
Email: *
Questions/ Comments: *

What You Should Do If You’re Hit by an Uninsured Driver

Although Florida law requires all drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance, there are many drivers who fail to uphold this legal duty. The minimum requirement is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL). If you have been in a crash or convicted of certain offenses, the Florida DMV can request you purchase additional auto insurance coverage such as bodily injury liability coverage (BIL).

Recent studies by the Insurance Research Council suggest that approximately 26.7 percent of drivers in the state fail to carry the legal amount of liability insurance, one of the highest uninsured motorist rates in the nation. This means if you are hit by a driver, there is a one in four chance that he or she will not have the necessary insurance to cover your losses.

When you are involved in an accident, there are certain steps that you must take to protect your case. The first step is to contact the police. A law enforcement officer is experienced in assessing automotive accidents and can come to the scene of the accident to provide assistance and to investigate why it occurred. He or she may cite the other driver for not having insurance or for violating some other type of traffic law. Additionally, if medical treatment is necessary, he or she can call an ambulance to the scene. The law enforcement officer may ask each party to provide contact information, his or her driver’s license number, license tag and other important information. Even if the police do not respond, it is important that you get this information anyway so that you have it when you make an insurance report

It is also important that if you are injured in an automotive accident that you seek medical assistance immediately. Leaving an injury untreated may exacerbate it and may impact the value of a claim that you file in the future. 

After an accident, there are often many things to deal with. You may find it difficult to follow up with aspects of the car accident because you are trying to recover from an injury or trying to get back to work after taking time off to recover. This is why it is important to contact one of our experienced Clearwater personal injury attorneys right after an accident. We handle the legal aspect of the case while you focus on recovery. 

In the event of an uninsured motorist accident, our Clearwater accident attorneys try to determine if the uninsured driver has other assets or income that makes it worth pursuing a personal injury lawsuit against them. We communicate on your behalf and protect your legal interests during this process.

Contact an experienced car accident lawyer today at 877-728-9653 or contact us online for a free initial consultation. Serving Tampa Bay

At Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett, P.A.,we fight for your rights in car accident cases in Clearwater,TampaBradentonSpring Hill, Pinellas, Pasco, New Port Richey, Manatee, Hillsborough and Hernando Counties in Florida. Contact us today for a free initial consultation and car accident case review at 877-728-9653 or onlineWe have 5 convenient offices and can meet you at home in at the hospital if necessary. Fighting for the injured and defending the accused since 1971.